Resurecting Amiga 1200. A prologue.

This blog is suppose to be dedicated to programming. To little bits and pieces of things I do professionally or to stuff I would like to do in a near future. Two weeks ago, out of the blue, I wrote a post about Amiga however. Sounds like a different kind of stories, doesn’t it?

Not so different. Since Amiga was my third computer, I was not so in games anymore, like when got my first Atari XE. Instead, I was in a total love in all the demo-scene stuff. Back then I could watch demos, intros and cractros for hours. Like hundreds other Amiga folks, I wanted to be a coder. A 68k assembler hero.

Long story short, it did not happen. At least not to an extent I could recognize as a success. Soon I switched to C and the system stuff. It was fun too, but not the dream I wished to come true. Hold on for a second. Where were I? Ah, yes, resurecting Amiga 1200.

Yes, I did it! :) I powered my Amiga 1200 on again. I could not say it is fully functional (it is far away from that point actually), but it works! I loaded some stuff from floppies (looks like they are more reliable then cd…), watched a demo or two, and listened to fantastic music… Not much, huh? There are reasons for that, unfortunately.

Lets start with what I have on the stock. The body parts are as follows:

  • Amiga 1200 with broken keyboard
  • M-Tec 1230 68030/28MHz with 10MB Fast RAM
  • a dead hard drive
  • a mouse without ball (more close to a real mouse then…)
  • Scandex scandoubler
  • a customized PC power supply
  • lot of floppy disks

Two complementary items are a standard SVGA monitor and an old-fashioned TV. Rather priceless when comes to making use of any computer, including Amiga.

Almost entire A1200...

Where are the chips?

A1200 keyboard. Almost functional...

A1200 keyboard. Almost functional. I hate that green tape…

A black Amiga mouse.

Amiga mouse. Looks like a working one.

Mouse with no ball. Whatever it may sound.

Something is badly missing…

It does not look impressive, I know. Broken or dead items are not of particular use, nor interest. But do not lose faith. My story of a pile of old hardware pieces becoming a working Amiga 1200 is a long one, however has a happy-end. I wished a happier one (all these not working things, especially the keyboard…) but it is good to have what I’ve managed to (re)assemble.

More to come.

8 thoughts on “Resurecting Amiga 1200. A prologue.

  1. Hi there,

    Congratulations on getting your Amiga 1200 up and running again! Seems like your old friend needs some new parts though. I’m sure you can get hold of some of these components pretty cheap through various websites. It’s great to see that it is working after all those years. :) Looking forward to read more about the A1200!

  2. Thanks for encouraging words :) I will dig in few places.
    BTW, I’ve read on your blog there are some rumors that a number of brand new A1200 from some dusty shelfs can hit the market soon… I wonder if this is true.

  3. Those rumours turned out to be true! Petro T. has announced the availability of 500 NOS Amiga 1200 (the Magic Pack bundle)! :D I don’t have Facebook, so I couldn’t read the message, but according to a user on Amiga.org, it was this:

    “Soon I will have 500 units new Amiga 1200 Magic Pack.. If you are interested to buy let me know. Pricing 150 Euro plus 19% VAT.”

    Not a bad price for a NOS Amiga 1200 with software! :)

    Let’s hope it will be possible to order one in the near future.

  4. Not yet if I am correct. He did say soon. “Soon I will have 500 units new Amiga 1200 Magic Pack.. If you are interested to buy let me know. Pricing 150 Euro plus 19% VAT.”

Leave a Reply

