Amiga.

I have a pretty “yellish” Amiga 1200. I’ve been trying to resurrect my old girlfriend since two years or so, but with no success. Her hard drive is dead, keyboard does not work well  (that horrible tape…) and the PSU not so healthy anymore. I cleaned the floppy and besides the mainboard and expansion card (full 68030 with 10MB RAM) it is the most shiny part. I’ve promised to myself to spend some more time on that stuff during the upcoming vacations…

Truth be told, this is an old stuff (sorry dear Amiga) anyway. It may work for some time but who knows for how long. I love the stuff people have done for that hardware, especially the demoscene productions (I used to collect even the cractros…) and need a way to watch them from time to time. I don’t plan to expend big money for a new one too.  Emulation then.

I am a Linux user, and unfortunately I suffer a bit from lack of WinUAE (I know, there are options…). However, even WinUAE on a native Windows, not mentioning WINE, behaves strange (did you see the fullscreen mode? this is a bad joke) and I don’t like it much. Another hardware I possibly could make an Amiga is Playstation 3. This is not so easy anymore though. You jailbreak it and Sony says Game Over to you. Even though I use PS3 once in a blue moon, I don’t want to hack it. So what’s then…

Looks like Nintendo Wii could be the best candidate. I am not familiar with that console, but it’s cheap and has some great looking emulators. I would have to buy a keyboard (yes, coding in AsmOne :) also, but this is an acceptable cost. Maybe the emulation is not so sexy, but it is more likely to get some fun with less effort and money that way. I’ve just started to research about it and I am not sure if Wii wouldn’t require a hardware hack to install 3rd party software, but from what I saw, it does not look so. Maybe I miss something, we’ll see. The real Amiga is waiting anyways.

Resources to investigate more:

WiiBrew

uae-wii 

7 thoughts on “Amiga.

  1. There are a few FPGA options available as well. Have you looked into the Minimig and FPGA Replay boards?

    I use an Amiga 1200 myself with several add-ons. My favourite computer. ;) Also got a CD32 in the living room for gaming.

    I’d also recommend that you visit AmiBay, which is a retro trading site for enthusiasts. You can make some good Amiga bargains there.

    Cheers!

    • Yes, I’m aware of these FPGA attempts, however I haven’t researched them enough yet. As for now, I know they exist, but I don’t know how expensive they are ;) and how/where I can get them (get == purchase of course). I’ll definitely give AmiBay a try.
      A1200 is my nostalgia hardware No.1 as well. Although it was my 4th personal computer (Atari 130XE, 520ST followed by Amiga 500), Amiga 1200 is *the thing*. It will be great to have it working again.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • The Minimig doesn’t cost a fortune and is available for purchase at webshops like AmigaKit and Vesalia. You can also buy one directly from ACube Systems (hardware producer). :)

        AmiBay is a great site. Have been a member there fore quite a while and have both sold and bought items there. Most people are very friendly and helpful.

        Which machine did you like the most if you had to compare the Amiga 500 and the 520ST?

  2. Thanks again. I’ll check this out.

    As for the question (smells like holy wars…;), I think it could be a topic for something bigger than just a comment.

    I did the swap mainly because it was extremely hard to get any software for ST in my area. Moreover, when I compared the software I had with the games and demos for Amiga 500, I felt a bit “screwed”. I must say however, that ST line had (and still has) an unique vibe. Last year when I attended to Atari demo-party, I had an opportunity to watched more recent stuff for ST. And I was pretty impressed.

    Nevertheless, I feel that the decision I made back in 90’s was right. Amiga was something unique and it was NOT Commodore to me. It was AMIGA, period. And I’m happy that I had an opportunity to be part of that ‘movement’, if you know what I mean :)

    • Oh yes, that would make an interesting topic for a blog post. :)

      Which demo party did you attend last year by the way? I agree that there are many cool demos for the Atari. Is the most popular group Dead Hackers Society? They make some impressive stuff to say the least. I’m more into Amiga demos, but I do of course like to check out productions for other platforms as well. I’m amazed about what people can get out of these old machines..

      The Amiga is special, no doubt about it. :)

  3. It was Silly Venture in Gdansk/Poland. Although it was pure Atari party, I had an opportunity to “touch” Amstrad CPC (I was 13 years old when I played with it at school…) and watch Batman demo several times. If I am not wrong there were only two ST demos in the ST compo. Dune&Sector One won with “Antiques”. Nice old school stuff. Here is the video: http://dhs.nu/video.php?ID=422

Leave a Reply

